Skip to main content

This weekend saw the presentation of the 2009 Nebula Awards, and some great writers won. Not hard to do when you consider most of the nominees were great writers, of course. That group included Ursula K. Le Guin, Catherine Asaro, John Kessel, and Nina Kiriki Hoffman for best novel, novella, novelette, and short story, in that order. Wall-E got best script, Ysabeau S. Wilce took home the Andre Norton Award, Harry Harrison won the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, and Joss Whedon got the Ray Bradbury Award (and accepted on video). My favorite first-person account of the event comes from Amy Sterling Casil, herself no stranger to quality writing.